Two IARI Scientists chosen for Borlaug Award-2012

Chennai, Nov 22 : Distinguished scientists Dr K V Prabhu and Dr Ashok Kumar of Indian Agriculture Research Institute (IARI) have been chosen for this year's Borlaug Award, instituted by Coromandel International Limited, which manufactures a wide range of farm inputs.

The two were chosen for the award in recongition of their outstanding contribution to Basmati rice research and development. The awardees were selected by a five-member Jury headed by eminent Agriculture Scientist Dr M.S. Swaminathan, the father of Green Revolution in India. Announcing the awards at a press conference here today, Dr Swaminathan said Coromandel International Limited has instituted the award in 1972 to honour Nobel Laureate Norman E Borlaug, which is awarded in recognition of outstanding research and contributions in the field of Agriculture, Environment and Extension by Indian Scientists.

The award carries a cash prize of Rs five lakhs, a Gold medal and a citation. Planning Commission Deputy Chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia would present this awards on the occasion of the prestigious Coromandel Lecture to be delivered by Dr Robert S. Zeigler, Director General of the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), on November 28 at a function in New Delhi. The Coromandel Lecture was initiated in 1970 to promote and develop symbiotic interaction among agriculture, industry and academia across the world.

Distinguished leaders and former Presidents like V V Giri, Mr Fakruddin Ali Ahmed, Dr K R Narayanan, Dr A P J Abdul Kalam and Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh have presided over some of the past lecture functions. This year Dr Robert Zeigler would deliver the Coromandel Lecture on the topic 'Cutting edge Science for food security, economic growth and environment protection'.

- Agencies

Published On : Nov 22, 2012