Cong MPs firm on resignations

Hyderabad, Jan 31 : Six Congress MPs from Telangana region today said they would not take back their resignations submitted to office of Party President Sonia Gandhi at New Delhi yesterday. The MPs---- Manda Jagannath, Gutha Sukhender Reddy, Ponnam Prabhakar, Komatireddy, Rajagopal Reddy and S Rajaiah had submitted their resignations in protest against the Centre reneging on its announcement that it would take a decision on separate statehood by January 28.

However, another MP Madhu Yaskhi Goud, who too had tendered his resignation for Telangana state, had later stated that there was no need for resignations as the party spokesperson P C Chacko had clarified that the party was not against Telangana state. Talking to reporters after holding a meeting at former Rajya Sabha MP K Keshava Rao's residence here, Mr Rajagopal Reddy said Mr Goud's views were his personal and that the remaining MPs stood by their resignations both from parliament and the party. He said the resignations along with a letter addressed to Ms Sonia Gandhi were sent to New Delhi Delhi through Mr Goud and another MP, Ponnam Prabhakar.

Mr Reddy said they had requested Ms Gandhi to accept their resignations if the party was unable to take a decision for formation of Telangana. "We will continue to put pressure on the leadership till a favourable decision was taken," he added. Mr Keshava Rao said he would send his resignation from the party to Ms Gandhi for the Telangana cause. He denied that there were any differences among the members.

- Agencies

Published On : Jan 31, 2013

© Copyright 2014,
Chennai Interactive Business Services (P) Ltd. All rights reserved.
Contact Us,
Copyright and Disclaimer, Privacy Policy.