Sub Junior Ranking Badminton Championship from Oct 22

Visakhapatnam, Oct 12 : The six-day first Haailand All India Sub Junior Ranking Badminton Championship will be held at the Swarnabharathi Indoor Stadium here from October 22 to 27.

Addressing a press conference here today, Organizing Committee Chairman and State Minister for Investments and Infrastructure, Ganta Srinivasa Rao and Tournament Organising Secretary C Srinivasa Rao said 700 players under 13 years and under 15 years boys and girls will take part in the championship. He underline the need for creating awareness among the children from the school level on the importance of the badminton. He said stars like Rahul Yadav, Siril Varma and Vrushali of Andhra Pradesh, Chirag Sen of Uttarakhand, Shikha Goutham of Maharastra, Mahima Agarwal of Karnataka will also take part.

The local lads R Shasini, Ch Uttejitha Rao, K Jagadesh, KRK Chrith were also showing good performance in all the national tournaments which were being conducted by the part of country. He said players showing best performance will be selected to represent India in international tournaments. Mr Rao said the Badminton Association of India (BAI) had allotted to the All India Sub Junior Ranking Badminton Tournament to Andhra Pradesh Badminton Association (APBA).

The total cash prize of Rs two lakh would be distributed to all the winners and runners as per the BAI norms. The Badminton Association of India has nominated Manjusha of Maharastra as Chief Referee and also Nominated 12 Umpires. The APBA also nominated 12 Umpires to officiate the entire matches. The Sportive Spectators and young players in the state specially in the Port City players witness in action of the national and international players after a long break nearly 15 years conducting this mega tournament, he added.

- Agencies

Published On : Oct 12, 2012

© Copyright 2014,
Chennai Interactive Business Services (P) Ltd. All rights reserved.
Contact Us,
Copyright and Disclaimer, Privacy Policy.